How to use affirmations

When I was browsing through my collection the other day, I found some useful affirmations I compiled years ago, and I thought it would be nice to share my thoughts on them with you.

What are affirmations?

Affirmations are present tense, positive sentences that you use when you want to change your attitude or feelings towards something. They should be repeated several times when you are in a relaxed mood. They must not be negative statements, as you want to concentrate on what you want, not what you don’t want. The sentences must not be in the future tense, as you want to feel the positive vibes right now.

Do affirmations really work? And what is the best way to use them?

What I found was that affirmations work if you can believe them from your heart. Therefore, the most important point is to use or create an affirmation that you can identify yourself with. If you are new to affirmations, I advise you to use some you find here or in any other collections, but select only the ones that you find true for yourself. For example, don’t keep repeating “I am rich” if you are clearly not, because it will create further resistance or negative feelings in you.

The role of affirmations is to create positive feelings and to maintain them. Don’t repeat “I am successful” if you feel like you are not successful at this stage of your life. For success, you can create a sentence like “I am taking baby steps each day to become successful in my business.” You can accept this as true for you. Affirmations are a great tool to help you keep focused on what you want to achieve.

When to use them?

You should find some time during the day when no one is going to disturb you, and you are able to relax a bit. In the morning just after you wake up, take a few deep breaths and repeat your affirmations. Or you can find some time in the evening and include using your affirmations in meditation. But you can also write or print your favourite ones, and put them somewhere you see them regularly, such as near your desk, computer, mirror, etc.

Please, find below some examples. After some practice, you will be able to create your own ones.

I fulfill my creative side.

I love to communicate and attract loving experiences and people to me.

Limitations are merely opportunities to grow. I use them as stepping stones to success.

I can shape my own destiny.

I focus my attention on loving myself and trusting the Universe.

I turn every experience into an opportunity.

Gratitude brings more to be grateful about. I am grateful.

I see prosperity everywhere and rejoice in it.

I relax and rejoice in the abundance that is here now.

I release the  past with ease and trust the process of life.

The above affirmations are from Louise L. Hay.

If you are interested in using affirmations, I encourage you to look at a greater collection. However, I do believe that your own personalised affirmations will be the most effective.

2 thoughts on “How to use affirmations

  1. Pingback: Eliminate fear | noemifairy

Leave a Reply

